le opzioni binarie funzionano
come guadagnare online seriamente

Jill Abramson | 2016

Denver Press Club to fete former editor of New York Times

The Denver Press Club (DPC) Board of Directors has named Jill Abramson, former editor of The New York Times, as the recipient of the 22nd Annual Damon Runyon Award.

Abramson will accept the award at a banquet in her honor on Saturday, April 16, 2016, at the Denver Marriott City Center. Social hour begins at 6 p.m. and the dinner starts at 7 p.m.

During her 17 years at The New York Times, Abramson rose through the ranks to become the paper's first female editor in September 2011.

Before that, she worked as managing editor and also oversaw the Times' groundbreaking online coverage.

She previously served as Washington editor and bureau chief. Before coming to the Times, she worked for The Wall Street Journal as a deputy bureau chief and investigative reporter.

Since her departure from the Times, Abrahamson has been working on a book about the challenges facing legacy news organizations and how online news outfits have changed the landscape of news gathering and reporting.

Tickets cost $125 each and can be purchased online at www.blacktie-colorado.com or at http://tinyurl.com/pt8573o. Tickets cost $100 each for members of the Denver Press Club, Denver Woman's Press Club, Colorado Press Women, the Colorado chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, the Colorado Association of Black Journalists and the Colorado chapter of the Public Relations Society of America.

Sponsor tables of 10 cost $5,100 (gold), $3,100 (silver) and $1,100 (bronze).

This event is open to everyone. In addition, DPC offers a $25 ticket to attend the VIP reception at the club from 5-6 p.m.

Each year, the club presents the Runyon award to a journalist whose work best exemplifies the vivid writing style of Damon Runyon, an early member of the Denver Press Club in 1906-07.

Runyon wrote for The Denver Post and Rocky Mountain News before going on to fame and glory in New York City as one of the best-read columnists of his day. His collection of short stories, “Guys and Dolls,” later became the basis for the famous musical.

Previous recipients of the award include Jimmy Breslin, Mike Royko, Molly Ivins, Herb Caen, Pete Hamill, Ted Turner, Maureen Dowd, Tom Brokaw, David Halberstam, Ed Bradley, Carl Hiaasen, Seymour Hersh, George Will, Bob Costas, Tim Russert, Rick Reilly, P.J. O’Rourke, Anna Quindlen, Mike Lupica, Frank Deford, Katie Couric and Norm Clarke.

For more information, contact Bruce Goldberg at 303-369-4088.

You are here: Events Runyon Award