Runyon Scholarship Winners Chosen
| by: Joe Boven

Runyon Scholarship Winners Chosen

This year's Runyon Scholarship winners have been announced, and let's just say we are encouraged that these student journalists are part of the future of journalism. They will be honored for their achievement at the Damon Runyon Award Banquet along with David Simon and the winner of the Al Nakkula Award for police reporting on March 31. There are still a few tickets left, so sign up now

The winners are:

Ellis Arnold, Aurora, CO, University of Colorado, Boulder
Erin Douglas, Parker, CO, Colorado State University at Fort Collins
Ashleigh Hollowell, Woodland Park, CO, Colorado State University at Pueblo
Jillian Queri, Park City, UT, University of Denver
Jacqueline Palizzi, Thornton, CO, University of Northern Colorado
David Schaut, Highlands Ranch, CO, Metropolitan State University of Denver

Each student will receive $750 toward their tuition plus a ticket to the banquet and the VIP reception that precedes it. They also receive a one year membership to the Denver Press Club.

Erin Douglas also was chosen for the Tim Russert scholarship as the overall winner among the six scholarship winners. She will receive a total of $1,500 toward her tuition. Read her profile below and stay tuned for video interviews that we are putting together with each of our winners.

Erin Douglas

The news editor for the Rocky Mountain Collegian at CSU, Erin Douglas exemplifies the DPC's vision of a future journalist. As a result of masterful storytelling and dogged reporting, she was nominated and chosen as both a Damon Runyon Scholarship winner and the winner of our Tim Russert Scholarship. Erin plans to continue in her career as a journalist covering government and policy.

“I really am passionate about holding systems accountable, and I think that journalism is the best tool in order for me to do that. ...I view my role as a journalist as an educator because I am educating the public every day on what is happening.” -- Erin Douglas.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.